1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wireless network situation

Discussion in 'Bits & Bytes' started by Violet1966, Nov 4, 2004.

1. Violet1966

Violet1966 Stand and Deliver Staff Member

Ok I got a network here that's having problems. Friend of the hubby's is gone for a month, and is going to pay me to get this fully functional. Desktop is xp home....laptop is 98. He can't get anything on the laptop, to go to the printer. I haven't even set it up here yet, but wanted to get a head start on seeing if anyone sees the problem obviously, as I really don't know what to do first. I've never worked on a network before here. I'm assuming, after firing it up, to check firewall settings on the xp comp. He had the network fully functional when he had the thing hard wired....it's since he went wireless that this problem arouse. Any help appreciated :)

Now to set this all up. :nut:
  2. Advocat

Advocat Viral Memes a Speciality Staff Member

I know several people who've set up home networks using different OS on different computers (including, in one case, a print server).

Everyone reports the only way they could get things to work (eventually) was to spend several hours on the phone with the wireless router's tech support. Each company makes a different system, with different control protocols... and only they know -- or can figure out -- how different operating systems/makes of equipment interacts or reacts to the router.

Sorry I can't be of more help. :(
  3. Andy

Create a new "workgroup" on the XP box first, (even if you are keeping the same workgroup name) Share the printer out, then add the Win98 box to the same workgroup and see if you can see the workgroup in "network places" and add the printer from there..

Sometimes you need to run the network setup wizard from XP on the 98 box, it will prompt you near the finish to put the files on a floppy to transfer them.