1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

This is Hard to Swallow

Discussion in 'Issues Around the World' started by ShinyTop, Dec 18, 2002.

1. ShinyTop

ShinyTop I know what is right or wrong!

This article tells about the judge in the trial regarding the possession of the 73rd home run ball has determined that it must be sold.

Now I am not a lawyer so I am hindered by only operating on logic. But if the man who caught the ball has any claim it would appear to me it should be the only claim. To find otherwise is to say as long as you can take something from somebody you can share in its reward. The fight for the ball after it was caught was shameful. I understand that all may not have been aware it was caught but if the catcher proved it enough to get part of the ball it all should have been his. I do not like the message this sends.l

2. -Ken

-Ken Guest

Shiny,

I would be lying if I said I could come up with a fair ruling on that one. If in fact the ball was caught and a group of fans "knocked it" out of the rightful owner's glove, I would return it to the rightful owner.

If the ball was "gloved" and "fumbled" with someone else legitimately retrieving it, that would be another thing.

This makes me worry if a child catches the ball, does the crowd now have a "opportunity" to steal the ball out of the child's glove providing it is done in the 6/10's of a second? What is this like the fifteen second rule for food when it hits the floor?

Tough call, no matter how you cut it.

3. Robert Harris

Robert Harris Passed Away Aug. 19, 2006

This is a foolish enough issue so that it should have been posted in the sports section, where silly trivia are routinely discussed. And it certainly did not belong in court, wasting time and money on something no rational person would give a damn about. :)

4. ShinyTop

ShinyTop I know what is right or wrong!