1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

School budget increase - in exchange for student's personal info.

Discussion in 'Issues Around the World' started by Misu, Dec 3, 2002.

1. Misu

Misu Hey, I saw that.

http://www.cnn.com/2002/EDUCATION/12/03/recruiting.high.schools.ap/index.html

According to the above article, the US government has passed a bill that increases the education budget - in exchange for highschools providing contact information for all juniors and seniors to military recruiters.

Lots of people are pissed about this, saying it's an invasion of students' privacy. However, I don't really see much of a difference between now and when I went to highschool (10 years ago). My school had JROTC, and recruiters were routinely on campus passing out info, etc. I even received a bunch of information in the mail shortly after I graduated - information I never requested, which leads me to believe my school had given recruiters my contact information.

Your thoughts?

2. ethics

ethics Pomp-Dumpster Staff Member

What information do they seek? If it's name, address, and phone number, the Selective Service has been doing that for years.

If it's if you are a homosexual, or blood type, or allergies, etc... There's room for a lot of abuse and THAT personal information should remain private.

3. Steve

Steve Is that it, then?

Yeah, I don't understand all the hoopla, either, Ethics, given that Selective Service has required registration for years. Seems like the military would already know.

4. Misu

Misu Hey, I saw that.

There is a difference between selective service and schools mandatory handing over of information.

1. Females are currently not required to register with selective service. This law requires ALL students, not just males.