1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Oh my God, I'm not sure what I am?

Discussion in 'Issues Around the World' started by drslash, Nov 17, 2002.

1. drslash

drslash It's all about the beer

Spurned on by the capital punishment content posted in Ken's 'Oh my God, I found out I'm a conservative' thread, I wanted to ask a question.

Does anybody know anyone, whether they are a candidate for elected office, an elected officeholder, or a regular Joe, for that matter, who is truly pro-life as defined by someone who is against the killing of another human being whether that human being is unborn or a murderer?

Under the definition above, I somewhat sadly, must declare that I am not pro-life. I have been considering this for nearly 2 years and when and if I declare my self pro-life I will post here.

2. jamming

jamming Banned

I call that being consistantly pro-life, which is why I remain on the fence about abortion but lean heavily towards being against abortion. If people are for killing life in the womb, I don't see how they justify being able to be against the taking of an innocent life, by the small chance of a mistake in the criminal process, of a convicted murderer. What if they are wrong about their conviction of when life and conciousness begins? If they evaluate this chance at anywhere near the chance where they believe that an innocent man is executed, then they are ethical hypocrites.

3. -Ken

-Ken Guest

Jim,

I believe it is the "What if they are wrong about their conviction
    of when life and consciousness begins?" we all must decide for
    ourselves. I'm not sure there will ever be a definitive answer.

DrSlash,

I'm not sure how you interpret Pro-Life. If you are using it in the
    contemporary sense, it relates to being against abortion. This is
    not really "Pro-Life" as much as anti-abortion.

Thankfully, we can all choose our own beliefs and limits.

4. drslash