1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linux users unite!

Discussion in 'Bits & Bytes' started by Techie2000, Dec 22, 2002.

1. Techie2000

Techie2000 The crowd would sing:

Well who else is using Linux here? Show yourselves!

2. ethics

ethics Pomp-Dumpster Staff Member

I am planning to, sometime in January. Will be asking all kinds of advice. :)

3. Sir Joseph

Sir Joseph Registered User

I put linux on a second hard drive. Everytime I want to use linux, I have to enter the BIOS and make a slight change. Much easier than dealing with other headaches.
    Ethics,
    I am a Linux newbie, I would recommend buying the disks and using the Mandrake or RedHat. They're much easier to install. My install went easier than a Windows install.

4. ethics

Wow seriously? I was thinking along the lines of Mandrake.

5. Techie2000

I personally would recommend SuSE, which I have experience with. If you buy Mandrake I may not be able to help you with some stuff. SuSE is a great distro that will grow with you, and got a C|NET editor's choice award. It's the distro I would use if I wasn't using Gentoo right now...

6. Sierra Mike

Sierra Mike The Dude Abides Staff Member

I have RedHat 8 if you want to give that a whirl.

SM

7. Sir Joseph

Sir Joseph Registered User

I just put the CD in, and the install started, found the hardware asked me some questions and then I got to the desktop. If you want to dual boot or some other stuff like that, it might be a drop harder.

8. Coot

Coot Passed Away January 7, 2010

Mandrake and win2k on one machine, Lindows and win2k on Mrs. Coot's.

9. Aria

Aria All shall love me&despair

I've got Mandrake 8.0 on my 2nd hard drive. No problems with it once I gave in to the fact that it didn't want to play nice with Win2k on my other drive.

10. ShinyTop

ShinyTop I know what is right or wrong!