1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Got Fitbit? (physical fitness monitor/watch)

Discussion in 'Bits & Bytes' started by Susan Addams, Dec 18, 2017.

1. Susan Addams

Susan Addams Amazonian woman in a petite package!

Like anybody with a brain, of course I work out, in my case 3-4 times a week at my local gym. Recently I became interested in fitness monitoring devices and although I think the Apple watch covers it too. Fitbit seems to have attracted the major share of the business.

I quickly narrowed my search down to the Fitbit Alta HR, because of its small size. The Alta's small size looks good on my wrist considering I'm petite, but it looks good on men too.

I'm still learning its capabilities but the HR = heart rate monitor feature is what caught my interest. In combination with accelerometers it can capture a wealth of data from your body. I have no idea what other sensors there are, if any. But just from these two inputs many aspects of your physical activity can be calculated via algorithms. Of course HR heart rate is given, and is why the device is called the Alta HR. I presume Alta is marketing for "thin band." (Some devices have GPS for distance walked but I think the HR deduces that from accelerometers or just reports in units of steps. If steps you could calibrate a conversion for yourself.)