1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cyber-incident at Dept. of Energy

Discussion in 'Bits & Bytes' started by SixofNine, Nov 3, 2013.

1. SixofNine

SixofNine Jedi Sage Staff Member

As an independent consultant I had a cup of coffee on a Dept of Energy (DOE) project about 18 years ago, long enough to get a contractor ID. Lo and behold, I just received a letter from the DOE that a "cyber incident" at the end of July compromised my name, SSN, and date of birth. Is that all? What can anybody do with that? (/sarcasm)

In any case DOE is footing the bill for a free year of credit monitoring. I'm also going to put a fraud alert on my credit file. No untoward activity so far.

2. Andy

Andy ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Got one of those every year I was a CTR for the Army.

Made me feel all warm and fuzzy about how secure stuff was. :sarcasm-50:

3. cmhbob

cmhbob Did...did I do that? Staff Member

On the brighter side, at least they found you and notified you. Wow.

4. Allene

Allene Registered User

Wow! Would you believe it, I got a year of the same when someone hacked the University of Utah Medical Center's system some years ago.

5. Greg

Greg Full Member

Well the next stop would be a genealogy site to look up your family tree and find out your mother's maiden name. With name, SSN, DOB and MMN an identity thief could wreak all kinds of havoc.

But wait, it gets even better! You can't change any of those identifiers, so you are compromised forever.

Our system is so screwed. With more and more companies, organizations and governmental entities getting our identifiers or access to our identifiers, each of them is subject to compromise. That results in everybody having multiple security weaknesses, and the more you give your info to the more potential breaches you have.

I doubt if hardly anybody doesn't already have several or dozens of potential attacks just waiting to happen.