1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Appeasement, Please

Discussion in 'Issues Around the World' started by Sierra Mike, Jan 2, 2003.

1. Sierra Mike

Sierra Mike The Dude Abides Staff Member

From The Slate:

Read all about it at Dear Leader Cries, "Love Me, Tease Me, Appease Me!"

Well. I'm not a big proponent of war on the Korean Peninsula--as much as I like Asia, I am resistant to the possibility of having to pull on a cold weather flight suit and strapping on some sort of aircraft to conduct attack operations. But so far, I haven't read anything about China, Japan, or Russia screaming at the US to halt and stop everything and roll over like a dog in the vain hopes that our smiling and ever dashing Dear Leader will rub our collective belly. Not only is he unlikely to do it, but there's also a good chance that dog is still a favored North Korean menu item.

Appeasement sounds nice here, but does it solve the problem? No, it merely makes it go away for a while longer. It's pretty obvious to me (but apparently quite lost upon Fred Kaplan) that peace is not what the DPRK prays for. It is not, in my estimation, what the DPRK hopes to gain from a "non-aggression pact" with the US; all Kim Jong-il and his cronies want is a piece of paper which would serve to tangle up America's military feet should hostilities be imminent. (I, for one, am fairly sure countries such as France would cry foul should the US respond to military belligerence on the DMZ.)